One trip, two games, three cities, four friends, and five bucks I don’t get back alive.

My road trip began at the late afternoon hour of 4 p.m..  Of course the rain was a constant companion on my drive to the town of Sabastopol.    It was there I would meet up with my dear friend Italiano.  It has been nearly a year since I last saw him.  It was a shame that I was only staying for few hours.  Early the next morning I was to finish my road trip to Oakland by meeting Pops at our temporary home in a warehouse loft.

It’s always good to see my friend Italiano.  Despite having only a few hours, and most of them I spent trying to sleep on his living room floor, we managed to catch up on each others’ lives.  I wish we had more time.  It was like he knew I was passing through, and thus we did not get a chance to talk about what being a Scorpio has done to our respective lives.  I have always enjoyed Italiano’s philosophical observations.  We are much alike, but he lives his live at a much slower speed than I do.  He sees things, and often enjoys the journey of each day.  I find myself being envious of him.

This morning we sat in a diner and had a modest breakfast before I hit the road.  Italiano talked about a possible relocation.  I wanted to pitch the idea of moving up to Humboldt County to be closer to friends that would enjoy his company.  However, I knew better than to try to persuade him to return to the place where he had a breakdown that forced him to move away in the first place.

I just hope he finds a place where he feels settled.  A place he can call home, and make a connection.  He is more prone to solitude than I am, but I know that if he falls in with the right crowd, he will show people just what an awesome person he is.

As I walked out the door of his apartment I told him that I was going to back his way on the 3rd of January.  He shrugged his shoulders and said he would be around.

I look forward to seeing him again, and maybe next time we can get to the philosophical debates.

Leave a Reply

