SUper Bowl Party and the Calzone

Yes it was an obscene amount of food.  Sunday was the only day of the year I morph into “The Hostess with the Mostess”.  The Hostess is a somewhat mythical character that gets strength from knowing that there may not be another day like this one for at least a year.  It was Super Bowl Sunday, and expectations were high.  No matter how the game would turn out, it was the food that needed not to suck.

In addition to the usual football party goodies, it was a year in which creativity took center stage.  I wanted to take the advice of some people, and use this Super Bowl party as an opportunity to make an original dish.  Granted, I did not take too much of a risk.  However, the success of this creation might just give me the confidence to try more daring ideas in the future.

My day was preparing things, such as the chicken strips I would later coat with gouda cheese and bake in the oven.  They were delicious!

I decided to make a calzone.  One that was filled with goodies you would enjoy in a large breakfast.  So I started with pre-made pizza dough.  I had time constraints since I was hosting a party with so many other people.

For the sauce I chose a sausage gravy made thicker by extra milk.  I let it simmer longer to get more consistency.

I used shredded gouda, and some shredded cheddar.

I used sausage, eggs, and tater tots.

I rolled the concoction together, and sealed the dough to make the calzone.

They came out of the over golden brown.

The big test was when I cut the calzone open.

It tastes as good as it looks.  It was a big hit.  The only drawback was that I served the calzone after half-time.  By then, my guests were already stuffed from hot dogs, chili, guacamole, chicken fingers, smoked mini-franks wrapped in puff pastry, and pizza.

The game was good.  It was nice that the New Orleans Saints were victorious.

Thanks to Kristabel for the fabulous action shots.

6 thoughts on “SUper Bowl Party and the Calzone

  1. Seeing all of that good food is almost enough to get to me start watching sports…almost! 😛

    I must say you have inspired me to try making calzones again. It has been more than 10 years since I’ve made one…then again…it’s been years since I’ve made a pizza as well…for shame…for shame…my Italian ancestors must be turning in their graves!!! 🙂

  2. Did I see any nacho cheese at your soiree?????? NO!

    Did I see any Necco wafers at your party?????? No!

    Did I see any Mountain Dew Original Flavor????? No!

    Not much of a party if you ask me.

    Ladyfriend and I dined on yummy store-bought taquitos,
    TGIFriday’s Potato Skins and Mozzerella Sticks with Ruffles and Hidden Valley Ranch dressing. Yep, truly All-American.
    It’s bullshit to eat any other way on Superbowl Sunday!
    I remember my brother puking his guts out on Superbowl Sunday because of all of the junk food. Damn proud of that moment.

    Homer Simpson: “You Don’t Make Friends With Salad!”

  3. I forgot to mention that Mr. Pat provided the Nacho Cheese (from a can no less) to accompany the fresh guacamole.

    We will consider an all junk food from a box menu next year.

Leave a Reply

