Tapperass Cooks: The Bacon Cheeseburger Pastry Wrap (baked)

Once again I would like to mention that the food prepared here is for experiment only.  This food item is not a part of the regular diet of Sally Tapperass.  However, this food fun is in honor of those people who strive to make the most unhealthy food fusions in their own kitchens.

My love affair with smoked Gouda continues today.  I made sure to shred a generous amount of this flavorful cheese.  I ended up using the bulk of this cheese in a homemade Macaroni and Cheese dish. At this time I have removed the puff pastry sheets from the freezer.

I cooked a pound and a half of ground beef, and made sure to drain as much of the grease as I could.  I cooked a pound of bacon, and cut it into small pieces.  I also melted cheddar cheese with a small amount of milk on the stove top.  The trick is to remove the cheese from the heat intermittently in order to prevent the cheese from burning, and sticking to the bottom of the pot.

I combined the cheese, ground beef, and bacon.  I took the thawed puff pastry and rolled it thinner with a rolling pin.  I spread the beef and bacon mix over the pastry.  I finished by sprinkling some shredded Gouda over the meat.

Starting at one end, I rolled the pastry over itself, and sealed the contents of the meat inside the pastry.  As you can see I tried to tuck in the ends of the pastry on one of the wraps.  I cooked them in the oven at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

The wraps kept their shape after baking in the oven.  I neglected to coat the outside of the wraps with butter.  That will be something for next time.

The inside looks mushy, but the cheese was very plentiful.

The Verdict: Wow!  The flavors are incredible.  The cheese really makes it messy, but the beef and bacon are quite detectable in this dish.  Again, the Gouda is an awesome cheese, and does justice to the blend of flavors.  As you read this with descriptions of ground beef, bacon, and cheese blends no doubt your arteries are clogging.  SO take caution, and consult your Doctor before trying this mega-fat food dish

10 thoughts on “Tapperass Cooks: The Bacon Cheeseburger Pastry Wrap (baked)

  1. the classiness of this dish is only magnified by the paper plate (or is that a paper bowl) upon which it is served.
    you are a god.

  2. For puff pastry to achieve its destiny, the cut ends should be left to float as it bakes (in a hot oven) so it’ll puff and be light and flaky. And next time let it sit a bit before cutting, so the cheese will slow down: it might be easier to eat and serve. A reg’lr cholesterol festival, and pretty yummy.

  3. Thanks for the tips GK. I am very rusty at cooking, and add to it that I am experimenting at the same time.

    Perhaps when I finally find my groove I will open the Heart Stop Grill. A nice plan for retirement.

  4. Havn’t you been listening. The grease is a by-broduct of the fat, which gives the meat flavor. As long as you take your medication daily, you should be in good shape. If you want to eat healthy-garnish it with a sprig of parsley!
    ps: Are you serving this at Superbowl?

  5. Yowza, does that look tasty! I didn’t know that you liked Smoked Gouda…it is a favorite of mine as well but I tend to avoid buying it because I always end up eating it all in one sitting. 🙂

    A little cholesterol (well ok, even a lot!) is good for you! One of these days I will have to teach you my family’s old recipe for deep fried pizza balls (nearly the size of cannon balls, actually). Such culinary sin should be shared!

  6. Should someone who is constructing and eating this gastronomic adventure really be talking about how “their workout clothes are adding 10 pounds of weight?” Don’t blame the workout clothes. They are the innocent bystanders in this one!!!

Leave a Reply

