A sad day for a couple of ‘Reservoir Dogs’ fans

I was very sad to learn of the passing of both Anne Francis and Gerry Rafferty today.  Mr. Pat told me about the passing of Ms. Francis.  What do these two people have in common?  Well, if you are a fan of the Quentin Tarantino movie Reservoir Dogs, than you might recall that the two were connected to the movie.  Mr. Pat and I are big fans!

There is a scene in the movie that takes place in a car.  Mr. White, Mr. Pink, Mr. Orange, and Nice Guy Eddie are headed somewhere when a discussion about police woman TV shows starts up.  They go back and forth talking about actresses who were the equivalent of Pam Grier, and when Anne’s name comes up, Mr. Pink says:

“Anne Francis is white.”

Just like many lines in that movie, it just sticks in your mind all these years later.

Now Gerry Rafferty was part of the music group Stealers Wheel when he recorded the song “Stuck in the middle with you”.  I had no idea who Gerry Rafferty was before I saw R-Dogs.  I certainly had heard his music, but I never knew it was him.  It was not until that rather traumatic scene in the movie where Mr. White less than surgically removes that poor cop’s ear that I finally heard his name.  Of course as the amateur surgery goes on, “Stuck in the middle…” plays on in the background.  As you might guess, now every time  I hear that song all I can think of is a cop getting an ear hacked off with a straight blade razor.

Rest in Peace you two.  Also thanks to Quentin Tarantino for broadening my horizons through his over the top violence.

4 thoughts on “A sad day for a couple of ‘Reservoir Dogs’ fans

  1. Glad to find someone who loves Reservoir Dogs as much as I do, as well as the masterful and reference filled dialogue it and most of Tarantino’s film’s contain. Great post 🙂 and it’s a shame they passed on. Also, did you hear that Pete Postlethwaite passed on too.

  2. Somewhere down on Baker St. the man who sang about it now sleeps.

    I was unaware that Gerry Rafferty was in Steelers Wheel.
    I should have known that.
    A fine DJ I would make. I’ll stick to talk programming.

  3. I actually had Steeler’s Wheel 8 track tape in my Fire Engine red 63′ Chevy Nova in the early 70’s. (When Robin and I first met.) Man. The years just roll by.

Leave a Reply

