A very sad farewell… RIP Clarence Clemons.

I say without doubt that my music tastes were significantly influenced by my oldest brother Steve.  He was the one who introduced me to Elvis Costello, and preached to me the importance of Bruce Springsteen and his E St. Band.  As you might expect, I became a huge fan of Bruce and his band.  His music always seemed to touch a nerve in me.  Songs like ‘Backstreets’, ‘Badlands’, ‘Promise Land’, and “Jungleland’ were some of the more important songs I heard in my youth.

My brother Steve has always had a thing for Bruce and his band.  He still recalls going to see Bruce play in Santa Barbara at a high school auditorium.  This was before Bruce broke out and became an international superstar.

So hearing last night that Clarence Clemons, the unforgettable sax player in Bruce’s E St. band, had passed away at the age of 69 came as quite a blow to those of us who are fans.  My brother response was very simple:

“I am heart broken today”

Often called “The Big man”, Clarence was an integral part of the band, and the music for over 40 years.

Press story about the death of Clarence Clemons

So today, those of us who are fans of Bruce and the E St. Band have heavy hearts as we remember The Big Man.

2 thoughts on “A very sad farewell… RIP Clarence Clemons.

Leave a Reply

