The Tapperass Food Labs… Mini Diablo Sandwiches

With the 2011 NFL Season kicking off tonight, I had a few friends over to watch the Saints and Packers play.  This was also an opportunity to experiment with food recipes for the annual Super Bowl part that will take place next February.  So tonight I took a crack at the Mini Diablo Sandwich.

Some of you will remember this classic clip from Smokey and the Bandit.

So what the hell is a Diablo Sandwich?  I spent the last 15 years trying to find the definitive recipe for that sandwich only to discover that it does not exist.  I can only make my interpretation of it.  With that in mind I went to the drawing board to see what I could do.

I needed shredded pork.  So I purchased one pork roast with the bone in. I used oil and a special rub of spices and seasonings to cook the roast.

The spices for the rub consisted of: Cumin, Season Salt, Pepper, and 2 kinds of chili powder.

Once the rub was coated on the roast it was ready to be placed in a glass pan and covered in foil.  I placed it in the oven at 350 degrees for 2 hours!

I wanted to make a spicy marinade for the shredded pork.  I started with 3 cans of peeled tomatoes.  I blended the tomatoes into a fine puree.

The spices for the marinade consisted of: Pepper, Season Salt, Cajun Spices, and Cayenne Pepper.

I added the spices to the puree and I could smell the heat!

When the roast was done it looked magnificent.  Now all I had to do was see if the pork would shred with only a fork.

Oh it did.

The bone came right out of the roast.  This was incredible.  The spices from the rub were very detectable in the meat.

I  shredded all of the pork into a dish.  It was so mouth watering.

I added the spicy marinade, and I let it sit over night in the refrigerator.  I warmed up the shredded pork before serving.

I used mini burger buns, or slider buns as they are called in the store.  I also used King’s Hawaiin Sweet Bread.

They look so good.

The Verdict:  A touchdown.  Not too spicy, but enough kick to be a sensation for the taste buds.  The one observation was that I need to serve them with Dr. Pepper next time.  This little sandwich has a good chance of making the final menu for the Super Bowl Party.

2 thoughts on “The Tapperass Food Labs… Mini Diablo Sandwiches

  1. That looks great! I have to say you seem to know your way around this food stuff.

    On a side note, I noticed the guy in the video with the dark hair looks a lot like the guy running for prisident from Texas.

Leave a Reply

